Breaking News

Ngilari presents list of commissioner- nominees to Adamawa Assembly

By Umar Yusuf

YOLA—Barely three months after assuming office as governor of Adamawa State, Mr Bala Ngilari yesterday forwarded the names of 21 persons for approval as commissioner by the state House of Assembly. Only three women, Mrs Rejoice Calvin, Mrs Marylyn Babayi and Mrs Patricia Yakubu are in the list.

This is coming even as the governor is yet to nominate his deputy for the House to approve.

The Speaker of the House, Ahmadu Fintiri, who read the governor’s letter on the floor of the Assembly directed Clerk of the House to ask the nominees to submit their Curriculum Vitae for screening latest by Monday.

Fintiri, who was the acting governor before Ngillari was declared as the Governor had been fighting a political battle with the Governor over who controlled the politics of Madagali Local Government Council where both of them hail from. Madagali had been under the control of Boko Haram terrorists for close to five months now.

The failure of the governor to form


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.