Breaking News

Wild jubilation in Osogbo as APC in early lead in Osogbo, Modakeke, Ede

Kindly Share This Story:

By Henry Umoru, In Osogbo
OSHOGBO town was thrown into wild jubilation as results of the Osun State gubernatorial election results were being released at the polling units, reports have it that the All Progressives Congress, APC was in the early lead in Osogbo, Modakeke, Ede, just as the PDP has won in Ife central, the strong hold of its candidate, Senator Iyiola Omisore.

According to the results, the APC got 96 votes at Okefia while the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP polled 54 votes.

There was wild jubilation at Otefu and Oshogbo main town with motor cycle riders blocking the major streets as well as men, women and young persons dancing on the streets of Oshogbo as results had it that Rauf Aregbesola of APC was in the early lead. The people who carried brooms with songs of victory, however blocked the road.

At Otefu, APC polled 528 votes to defeat the APC which scored 183 votes.

At Ajegunle Ward 1, APC scored 351 votes, PDP 79; Ajegunle ward 2, APC got 347, PDP 69; St Charles area, APC 306, PDP 124; Oshogbo ward 4 Unit 4 APC 257, PDP 76; Unit 18,APC 339, PDP, 118; Unit 19, APC319, PDP 101 and Unit 20, APC 209, PDP 116.

Meanwhile, Former Deputy National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Alhaji Shuiabu Oyedokun won at his Jalogun Abiose, Ward 02, Inisha polling Unit.

At the Unit, PDP scored 162 while the All Progressives Congress, APC got 152.

Speaking with Journalists after the results, Oyedokun who is a member of PDP Board of Trustees, BoT described the election as a new dimension in the nation’s politics where emphasis was being placed on the grassroots and awareness, adding that the education has led to the relative peace during the election.

At Omo-West, PDP 125, APC 61; Aiyetoro, PDP 155, APC 125; Isele-Osun,APC 142, PDP 71; Oke-Baale, APC 169, PDP 94 and at Odi- Olowo also in Osogbo, PDP 155 and APC 146 votes.

The final results in Ward 10, Ife Central as announced were as follows: Unit 3: PDP 140 APC 62
Unit 8: PDP 95 APC 26; Unit 12: PDP 148 APC 47; Unit 4: PDP 100 APC 64; Unit 11: PDP 34 APC 14; Unit 2: PDP 118 APC 61; Unit 10: PDP 101 APC 41; Unit 9 Ward 10: PDP 52 APC 21; Unit 6 Ward 10: PDP 94 APC 47; Unit 7 Ward 10: APC 19 PDP 37. At Ward 10 Unit 1 in Ife Central.
APC 73, PDP 149.

Result for Ward03 PU005, Ejigbo LG was as follows PDP 43, APC 122.

There was however rowdiness at Ward 8 Unit 7, Iragbi Road, Olorunda over suspicion that a young man was planning something funning.

Some voters complained that they were denied their rights to vote even though they were accredited.
But defending itself, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC polling officials stressed that at the time people were being counted and fingers being marked for the actual voting those who complained of not allowed to vote were not around.

There was Wild jubilation at Ife Central.
More details soon

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!