Breaking News

PSC approves 8 new Dep Inspectors-General of Police.

Kindly Share This Story:

By Kingsley Omonobi

Following the retirement of the erstwhile Deputy Inspectors-General of Police during the tenure of former IGP Mohammed Abubakar, the Police Service Commission has elevated eight new Deputy Inspectors General of Police.

Those promoted are AIG Solomon Arase, formerly AIG in charge Intelligence at Force Headquarters, AIG Dan’Azumi Doma, formerly in charge Force Secretary’s Department, AIG, Christopher Katso, formerly a Directing officer at the National Institute for Police and Strategic Studies, NIPSS, Kuru, AIG Salihu Argungu, formerly AIG in chage Zone 5, Benin.

Others are: AIG Mamman Tsafe, formerly AIG in charge Zone 2, Lagos and AIG David Omojola, formerly AIG in charge Zone 11, Oshogbo. The two CPs promoted to DIG’s are CP Hilary Okpara, formerly CP in charge Bayelsa state and CP Sotonye Wakama, formerly CP in charge Counter Terrorism Unit.

According to a statement signed by Ferdinand Ekpe, Assistant Director, Information, “the promotions are with effect from August 19, 2014. The Commission also re-affirmed its earlier decision that promotions from the ranks of ACPs to AIGs would only be done after its interviews with the affected officers.

The Commission had earlier at its 6th plenary on August 12, 2014 reviewed the time limit within which aggrieved police officers can lodge complaints against punishment meted to them to 30 days from the receipt of the decisions,” the statement said.

It has also availed aggrieved officers the opportunity to appeal directly to the Commission where an action on its decision is not implemented by the Police authorities as directed by it.”

Chairman of the Commission, Dr. Mike Mbama Okiro, while congratulating the newly promoted officers enjoined them to see their elevation as opportunity to serve. imploring them to use their wealth of experience in uplifting the Nigeria Police Force.

Vanguard had exclusively reported that following the appointment of Suleiman Abba, erstwhile AIG in charge Zone 7 as the new IGP, indications emerged that the above mentioned officers would be elevated as the new Inspectors General of Police.

However, the former administration of IGP MD Abubakar (rtd) had positions for seven Deputy Inspectors General of Police. With the promotion of eight DIG’s, indications have also emerged that the position of Deputy Inspector General and 2nd in Command to the IGP will be resuscitated.

Kindly Share This Story:
All rights reserved. This material and any other digital content on this platform may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, written or distributed in full or in part, without written permission from VANGUARD NEWS.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!