March 12, 2014

2014 Lagos Sports Festival holds April 30

A table tennis game between Rivers state and Delta State on the second day of the 18th National Sports Festival in Lagos. PHOTO; Kehinde Gbadamosi.

The 2014 Lagos State Sports Festival will hold from Wednesday, April 30 to Saturday,  May.10

The championship, tagged IBILE Games, will be competed for this year in two categories: Open Category for Local Government Areas (LGAs), and Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) and Junior/School Category for Senior Secondary School (SSS) students in the public, private, federal and military schools.

In the Open Category, 17 sports will be competed for. These are Individual Sports (Darts, Athletics/Para and Deaf Athletics, Gymnastics, Swimming and Weightlifting/Powerlifting. Combat Sports (Boxing, Judo, Karate, Wrestling, Kung-Fu and Taekwondo). Racket Sports (Table Tennis/Para and Deaf Table Tennis). Team Sports (Basketball, Football and Cricket). Traditional Sports (Ayo and Kokowa).

In the Junior Category, the following events will be competed for. Individual Sports (Chess, Athletics/Deaf Athletics, Scrabble, Swimming and Weightlifting). Combat Sports (Boxing, Judo, Karate, Wrestling and Taekwondo). Racket Sports (Badminton, Squash, Table Tennis/Deaf Table Tennis and Tennis). Team Sports (Basketball, Handball, Volleyball and Cricket).

According to a statement from Technical Committee headed by Babatunde Fatayi-Williams, the events will hold at the Mobolaji Johnson Sports Complex, Rowe Park, Yaba, Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere, Sports Bar of the Teslim Balogun Stadium, among others venues in Lagos.

Knock-up Hall of the National Stadium, Surulere, Cricket Oval of the Tafawa Balewa Square, TBS, Lagos Island and the University of Lagos Sports Centre, Akoka, Lagos.

The statement added that competition in the various sports have been scheduled to take place for both Open and Junior Categories in Week One and Two of the championship. Week One will run from Wednesday, 30 April to Saturday, 3 May, while Week Two will run from Monday, 5 May to Friday, 9 may. The closing ceremony will hold on Saturday, 10 May.