November 27, 2013

Nigeria Sports Award: Moses floors Mikel

Nigeria Sports Award: Moses floors Mikel

Mikel and Moses

Uduaghan wins  Sports Governor of the Year

By Jacob Ajom
Victor Moses was yesterday named the Nigerian Footballer of the Year,2013. He was conferred with the honour by the Nigerian Sports Award. Moses defeated John Obi Mikel and Sunday Mba who were the other nominees for the award.

In an elaborate ceremony at the Muson Centre, Onikan, Super Eagles coach, Stephen Keshi was presented with the Nigerian Coach of the Year award while Perpetual Nkwocha of the Super Falcons won the female footballer of the year.

Ball Sports Personality of the year award was won by Portugal based Nigeria table tennis international Aruna Quadri. He defeated Olumide Oyedeji and Ike Diogu, both of De Tigers.

The President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Alhaji Aminu Maigari won the sports administrator of the year award. He dedicated the award to every  Nigerian.

Blessing Okagbare won the Track and Field Star of the Year award while junior athlete Divine Oduduru won the discovery of the year award.

Meanwhile, Governor Emmanuel Uduaghan of DeltaState also won the Sports Governor of the Year Award. Uduaghan who was present in the hall received the award and said the other nominees, Governors Liyel Imoke of CrossRiver and Babatunde Fashola of LagosState were equally winners.

”I am aware that all the other governors are equally doing a lot in terms of grassroots development. The way we are going, Nigeria will win at least one gold medal at the next Olympics,” an elated Uduaghan said.

Mikel Obi however won the Sports man of the year award while Blessing Okagbare won the sports woman of the year award.