Breaking News

Afrobasket 2013: NBBF names 12-man squad as team depart Sunday

After a series of trial matches and camping which took the Senior Men’s National team through Abuja to China and the United States, the Nigeria Basketball Federation, NBBF yesterday named a 12-man squad for the Afrobasket 2013 which dunks off on Monday in Abidjan, Cote d’Ivoire.

According to the list released by the team’s Head coach, Ayo Bakare, the players are  Abdulwahab Alade Aminu, Alfarouk Ajadi Aminu, Andy Obinna Ogide, Ben Chukwukelo Uzoh, Chamberlain Nnameka Oguchi, Gani Oladimeji Lawal, Ike Somtochukwu Diogu, Jamaal Olasewere, Olumide Oyedeji, Richard Chukwuma Oruche, Stanley Gumut and Stan Chukwuemeka Okoye.

The technical staff led by Head coach Bakare include  Sani Ahmed, Ayinla Johnson, Ogoh Odaudu and Abdulrahman Mohammed while team doctor is Suleiman Ohida, Physioterapist is Ekundayo Ogunkunle as well as Patrick Omorodion, the Media Officer.

Meanwhile, the team are expected to arrive Lagos today from the United States where they had their final camping and head straight to Abuja where the federation will host them to a reception later this evening, Tijjani Umar, the NBBF president disclosed.

Sports Minister/Chairman, National Sports Commission, Malam Bolaji Abdullahi is expected to attend the reception and officially bid the team and officials farewell and a successful championship before they depart Abuja for Abidjan tomorrow.

The championship holds from August 20 to 30 and the play their first match against Mali on August 21, 2013.

Meanwhile, a 35-man team of supporters of Team Nigeria’s Basketball Men’s team, the Hoopers, are expec-


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.