Breaking News

2015: 200 S-West PDP chieftains storm Lagos today


LAGOS — TO reclaim the six states of the South-West geo-political zone in the 2015 general elections, 200 leaders of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, in the zone will storm Lagos today to work out strategies on how to prosecute and win the electoral battles.

Currently, the party has returned to its post-1999 to 2003 scenario when it was not governing any of the states.

It reclaimed five states from the Alliance for Democracy, AD, later Action Congress, AC, and now Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, at the 2003 polls. So, before the 2007 elections, it was in charge of five states except Lagos.

However, between 2007 and 2011, it lost all the states under its control through a combination of the ballot box and judicial pronouncements, which were worsened by recurring and protracted internal crises.

To the ACN, it lost Ogun and Oyo (through the ballot box) as well as Osun and Ekiti (through the law courts). It also lost Ondo to the Labour Party, first through the courts and now via elections.

The parley, which is being organised by the South-West PDP Caretaker Committee Chairman, Chief Ishola Filani, will be held at the Lagos Airport Hotel, Ikeja.

According the Chief Pegba Otemolu, zonal secretary, the South-West “elders and leaders of the party’ will at the stakeholders’ meeting, discuss “crucial issues about the progress of the party and the zone.”

Notable leaders among the 37 expected from Ekiti are Prof. Tunde Adeniran, Chief Ayo Fayose, Hon. Caleb Olubolade, Sen. C.K Awoyelu, Engr. Segun Oni, Sen. Gbenga Aluko, Prince Dayo Adeyeye, Sen. Bode Olowoporoku, Sen. Ayo Arise and Mrs.. Titi Oluwatuyi.

Among a 31-man delegation from Lagos are Chiefs Bode George, Dapo Sarumi, Dr. Abayomi Finnih, Alhaji Muritala Ashorobi, Alhaji Rafiu Jafojo, Sen. Adesye Ogunlewe, Sen. Musiliu Obanikoro, Gen. Tajudeen Olanrewaju, Mrs. Kofoworola Bucknor-Akerele, Alhaja Sinatu Ojikutu, Mrs. Remi Adiukwu-Bakare, Capt. Tunji Shelle and Dr. Abiola Ogunkelu.

Expected from Ogun State are 31 leaders including Sen. Jubril Martins Kuye, Chief Dayo Soremi, Hon. Titi Oseni, Sen. Lekan Mustapha and Dr. Adekoya Adedoyin.

Invitations were also extended to 35 PDP kingpins in Ondo State. They include Dr. Olusegun Agagu, Sen. Bode Olajumoke, Chief Olusola Oke, Dr. Bode Iwaloye, Mrs. Mobolaji Osomo, and Sen. Gbenga Ogunniya.

Leading invitees from Osun are Alhaji Shuaib Oyedokun, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Erelu Olusola Obada, Chief Ebenezer Babatope, Olubunmi Etteh, Yinka Omilani, Iyiola Omisore and Isiaka Adeleke.

And from Oyo State are: Chief Lekan Balogun, Adebayo Alao-Akala, Yekeen Adeojo, Gen. Raji Rasaki, Sen. Teslim Folarin, Hon Mulikat Adeola-Akande, Sen Hosea Agboola and Hon Muraina Ajibola among others.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.