Nigeria will today begin its quest to qualify for the Davis Cup Europe/Africa Zone Group II , when it plays Cote d´Ivoire and Lesotho in pool D of the Group IV qualifier in Cairo, Egypt.

The matches start today with the eventual two promoted nations to be known on May 18..

The matches hold at the Smash Tennis Academy, an outdoor clay-court venue, which also hosts 12 other African teams, all seeking just two tickets to play in the Europe/Africa Zone Group II for 2014.

The roll-call of nations competing comprise host Egypt, Algeria, Botswana, Cameroon, Cote d´Ivoire, Ghana, Kenya, Madagascar, Morocco, Namibia, Rwanda, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Lesotho.

All the matches hold in a round-robin format, with all the teams divided into four pools. The top nations in pools A and B are later drawn to play off against the top teams in pools C and D, with two winning nations promoted. Nigeria is in Group D, with only three teams.

Abdul-Mumin Babalola will lead the Nigerian assault for a ticket. Lawal Shehu, Clifford Enosoregbe, and reigning CBN champion, Henry Atseye are the other players in the team, captained by Benson Isichen.



Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.