The Federal Government,Tuesday,  declared a state of emergency in three states — Borno, Yobe and Adamawa states due to rising insecurity and breakdown of law and order in the states.

President Goodluck Jonathan, quoting Section 305 (1) of the 1999 constitution in a nationwide broadcast, however, failed to remove the governors of the states, saying that they are to continue discharging their constitutional duties.

“After wide consultation, I hereby declare a state of emergency in Borno, Yobe and Adamawa states. The Chief of Defence Staff has been directed to deploy more troops to these states and take all necessary actions to put an end to the activities of these insurgents,” he said.

He further stated that those encouraging rebellion will be dealt with, adding, “we will hunt them down, fish them out and bring them to justice.”

President Goodluck Jonathan
President Goodluck Jonathan

Subscribe to our youtube channel


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.