ABUJA — The Federal Capital Territory Administration, FCTA, has constituted a committee for the resettlement of Jabi-Yakubu community from its present abode to a new town at Shere-Galuyi in Bwari Area Council.

The community, which comprises about 500 households, had earlier written the Minister of State for FCT, Olajumoke Akinjide, on March 5, 2013, requesting to be moved to the new town earmarked for them.

The Technical Committee is chaired by the Deputy Director of Planning & Resettlement in the Resettlement and Compensation Department, FCT, Mrs. Helen Obiechina and the Special Assistant (Legal) to the FCT Minister of State, Mr. Festus Tsavsar, is the Secretary of the Committee.

Other members include Special Assistant (Resettlement Matters) to the FCT Minister of State, Mr. Benedict Ogenyi; representative of Urban and Regional Planning Department, Mr. Adamu Adamu; representative of Public Building Department, Mr. Ibrahim Momoh Jimoh; Head of Admin in the Resettlement and Compensation Department, Mr. Awwal Abdullahi Ibrahim; Security Chief, Abuja Municipal Area Council, Mr. Kelechi Uko-Abasi, and a representative of Satellite Towns Development Agency.

The community has two representatives as members of the committee, including Chief of Jabi Yakubu, His Royal Highness, Yakubu Auta, and the Madaki of Jabi Yakubu Community, Mr. Ishaku Suleiman.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.