Breaking News

Ibadan Dream Team wins MTN Polo tourney

THE first ever MTN Ibadan Polo Tournament, held at the Ibadan Polo Club Grounds, galloped to an epic end on Sunday.

Tagged, “2013 Ibadan Polo Tournament”, the event turned out to be a crowd-puller, as the crème de la crème of polo and politics, all came to be part of “the game of kings and the king of games”.

The most prestigious trophy of the tournament, Ibadan Cup, was won by the Ibadan Dream Team, comprising Salisu Umoru, Gabriel Omale, Jibrin Ali and Femi Oladele as they defeated Lagos Shoreline, while a selected MTN Kano Team also defeated Shoreline by six chukkas to four, to end the tournament.

Rotimi Cup was won by Kano Susplan after hammering Kano DMS five and half to one chukka, while the Ade Alakija Cup was lifted by Kano Suhel/Huawe after narrowly defeating Kano Last Chukker, by four and half to four chukkas. Other low cups in the tourney are the Oranmiyan Cup, HST Cup, and Shoreline Cup.

The Oyo state Commissioner for Youths and Sports, Dapo Lam-Adesina, who could not hide his joy and satisfaction with the sponsors of the event, MTN said, “We are excited and very happy, because we have been calling on private organisations to sponsor some of our sporting activities. MTN is really appreciated.

We want to use this opportunity to call on other organisations to look at what MTN has done and follow its example” the youthful commissioner asserted, at the tourney.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.