Breaking News

Lagos rewards tax compliants, essay winners

By Moses Nosike and Olayinka Ajayi

It was made more memorable at the just concluded  6th Stakeholders Conference in Ikeja, Lagos, as Lagos state Internal Revenue Service (LIRS) surprised individuals and cooperate organisations with huge awards for  being tax compliant.

Among individuals and organizations awarded were Chief Bolaji Ajose Adeogun, Chief Babatude Folawiyo, Chief Akintola Williams, Mrs. Ibukun Awosika, and Alhaji Taufiq Akinola Disu. Organisations awarded were Coca- Cola Nigeria Limited, Julius Berger Nigeria Limited, Promasidor Nigeria Limited, T.A Amadu and Sons among others.

Speaking at the events, Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola  enjoined Lagosians not to relent in paying  tax, adding that  most capital projects embarked upon by the state government were traceable  to the tax payers money.  “Most of the good works accredited to me would not have been possible without your supports and commitment to making Lagos a better place. However you also have the responsibility to acquaint yourselves with the tax payers’ laws so as to know your right when it comes to payments of tax”.

Also the governor granted Awards and scholarship to students on the same platform who performed  excellently on the Essay competition organized for Junior and Senior categories of secondary school students to showcase their intelligence on tax and your civic responsibilities.

Ten-year-old Yesirah Adepeju Adebiyi, a student of Tijani Memorial High School, Ipori won in the Junior Secondary (JSS) categories for her Essay title: Payment of tax is your duty, your civic responsibility and the Law. The JSSI pupil was rewarded with N250,000 scholarship and a computer for the school. While the second runner up, Ibrahim Adeyemi Olalekan of the Federal Government College, Ijanikin as well as Temitope  Akinbinu of Gbagada  Girls Junior Secondary School Gbagada, got N200,000 and N150,000 as well as computers for their schools.

In the Senior Secondary School (SSS)category, Ibukun Ajayi of Lagos African Church Grammer School, Ifako-Ijaye, came First; Simisola Oyetomi of Apapa Senior High School, Apapa was second while Blessing Idokwe came third. The senior pupils, who wrote on, Lagos State will continue to be a centre of excellence if all taxable adult pay their taxes promptly and correctly . They got the same prize money as the JSS Category Winners.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.