Abuja—President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the conferment of Nigerian National Order of Merit Award on two distinguished Nigerians for 2012.

A statement, yesterday, in Abuja, signed by Mr Adamu Mu‘azu, Secretary, Nigerian National Merit Award,named the nominees as Prof. Samuel Ohaegbulam, a pioneer in the field of Neuro-surgery in Nigeria and Prof. Emmanuel Yoloye, an expert in Education Psychology, Chemistry and Science Education.

The statement said the duo would be decorated with the NNOM Award on December 6 by the President at the Council Chambers, Presidential Villa.

According to the statement, the duo have passed through the litmus test of the Nigerian National Order of Merit Award.

It said in line with the Transformation Agenda of the present administration and to enhance further research works, each recipient would be given a cash award prize of N10 million.

It added that the recipients would also be entitled to a medal and certificate.

The News Agency of Nigeria, NAN, reports that the NNOMA had been conferred on only 60 Nigerians from all walks of life since its inception in 1979.

Prospective recipients are either nominated by persons or a group of persons who feel that the nominees have distinguished themselves nationally and internationally in various spheres of life.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.