Breaking News

15 Delta host communities reject divestment of OML 34

BY Emma Amaize

WARRI—FIFTEEN oil producing communities, under the aegis of Association of Federated Oil Mining License, OML 34 Host Communities, in Ughelli South Local Government Area of Delta State, weekend, vowed to resist the divestment from the oil bloc in their land by Shell Petroleum Development Company.

In a statement by Presidents-General of Umolo-Olomu, Eruemukohwarien, Effurun-Otor, Erhiphihor,  Mr. Benjamin Ebite, Joseph Avwunugharogo,  Owofio,  Moses Amrefere respectively  and others,  after an emergency stakeholders’ meeting, the host communities said they were not consulted before the purported sale of the OML.

They said: “It is an aberration for a facility in our domain to be handed over to a new owner without our consent. Any attempt to force the new operator on us without resolving the contentious issues shall be resisted by any lawful means necessary.”

They said they would head to the court if the issues bordering on the host communities were not satisfactorily resolved.

It was gathered that Shell invited the host communities for a meeting, last week, but they rebuffed the company, saying Shell and the new operators should meet with them in Otor-Udu Town Hall today with “concrete answers as a pre-condition for entry of any new operator.”


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.