Breaking News

Awori people back out of proposed Lagoon state

…call for creation of more LGAs in Lagos


LAGOS – The people of Awori in Lagos State under the aegis of  Awori Welfare Association of Nigeria, AWAN, has dissociated themselves from the call for the creation of Lagoon state from the present Lagos State.

At a briefing, President of AWAN, Mr. Sakariyau Opeifa, berated the action of those agitating for the creation of Lagoon State for not consulting with the Awori people before including them in the map of the proposed state, warning that no part of Aworiland or its people should be included in the proposed state.

He said: “Our attention has been drawn to a proposal of persons from Ikorodu and Epe divisions of Lagos State clamouring for the creation of Lagoon state from the present Lagos State; the proposed map of which covers some Aworiland.

”We vehemently deny ever being consulted, whereas many important Awori settlements are included in the proposed Lagoon state.

“For the purpose of informing and educating the general public, the Awori are opposed to the creation of Lagoon state as it is presently constituted and presented to the National Assembly. Awori people cannot allow another batch of her people to be carved out and made minority, the way they did to  the Awori  in Ado-Odo/Ota and Ifo local government areas. Awori are balkanised in Ogun State. Rather our kinsmen and women in Ogun State will be glad to be merged with Lagos State.

“It is instructive to state that despite the fact that we had pushed for Awori state in the 80s, the leadership of all Awori under the aegis of AWAN and all Awori obas and chiefs have resolved to unite in one state, Lagos State.

’’Instead of craving for any new state, we support the creation of more local government councils to take care of the ever-increasing population of Lagos State.

”For the avoidance of doubt, out of the 33 local governments proposed for Lagoon state, the following 18 belong to the Awori: they are Apapa, Iganmu, Somolu, Bariga, Akoka, Eti-Okun, Iwerekun, Kosofe, Agboyi, Ketu, Obalende/lkoyi, Iru/Victoria Island, Eti-Osa East, Eti-Osa West, Eti-Osa Central, Etikun, Ibeshe and Majidun leaving them with only 15.

’’In Lagos State as presently constituted, the  Awori have 16 and a substantial part of Badagry out of the 20 local governments, although we have been marginalised.

“Lagos State truly deserves a special status and special revenue allocation like those of the oil-producing states if not more in recognition of the huge revenues the Federal Government is deriving through our big local markets and ports.’’


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.