Breaking News

Visitation panel not to witch hunt anybody – Presidency

ABAKALIKI— CHAIRMAN, Presidential Visitation Panel to Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic, Unwanna, Afikpo, Ebonyi State, Dr. Ahmed Tizzani Abdullahi Bayero, stated weekend that Federal Government’s intention for setting up the panel was not to witch hunt any principal officer or institution of higher learning.

He pointed out that the panel was designed to be a fact-finding exercise which would look into several areas, including the leadership of the institution in terms of roles of the Governing Council, head of institution and other principal officers and also investigate the application of funds, particularly  special grants and loans meant for specific projects and to determine the status of such projects and their relevance for further funding.

Dr. Bayero, who spoke during a courtesy visit to the polytechnic, noted that the exercise would last from April 10 to May 10, 2012.

He called on the general public, especially all stakeholders in education and particularly the polytechnics sub-sector, to submit memoranda which would enable the panel carry out its assignment effectively and make recommendations to the Minister of Education, Prof Ruquyyatu Ahmed Rufai, for the enhancement of qualitative teaching and learning in the institution.

Receiving members of the panel, the Rector, Akanu Ibiam Federal Polytechnic, Prof. Francis Otunta, commended the federal government for the initiative, adding that such exercise would not only enable principal officers of polytechnics do their work well but also ensure that the standard of education in the country was taken to the next level.

He assured the panel of the institution’s cooperation and commitment throughout the period of its assignment.

“We are very happy to say welcome to the institution. We want to pledge that we shall comply fully with you. The atmosphere will give you all the time to concentrate on your assignment. I want to assure you that we will work as a family,” Prof. Otunta said.

Other members of the Panel include, Mr. Gabriel Amudipe, Dr. Henry Garba, Mr. F.O Ogoh, Dr. C.B. Adesina, Mr. Mohammed Abubakar, and Dr. M.G. Mahuta.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.