By Favour Nnabugwu

Federal Government has appealed to communities of the nine new federal Universities to collaborate with the government in ensuring quick take off of academic activities in their states.

Prof. Ruqayyatu Ahmed Rufa’i, Minister of Education made this appeal in Abuja yesterday as she enjoined host communities of the nine newly established Federal Universities in Kogi, Taraba, Ebonyi, Jigawa, Bayelsa, Gombe, Ekiti, Nasarawa and Katsina states to assist government on the quick commencemen of the tertiary institutions.

She also expressed optimism that the newly established Federal University of Technology, Otuoke in Bayelsa State would soon open for academic session.

She commended the host community for sustained efforts towards the take-off of the University, saying that it would accelerate the early take-off of the Institution.

The Hon. Minister further stressed the preparedness of the Federal Government to collaborate with communities in the development of the Education sector.

She said there were 12 states that had no federal universities until the federal executive council gave the approval for the nine new universities whilst she promised that the remaining three states would have a federal universities each in due course.”

The federal government had also apppinted Vice-Chancellor for the new universities namely: Prof. Abdulmumini Rafindadias Vice-chancellor of Federal University, Lokoja and Mrs Habiba Adeiza, as the registrar; Prof. Ekanem Braide is the Vice-Chancellor of Federal University, Lafia, and Dr Idris Jibrin as Registrar.

The others include: Prof. Mohammed Farouk, Vice-chancellor of Federal University Kashere, Gombe State and Dr Abubakar Bafeto, Registrar; Federal University Wukari, Taraba, has Prof. Geoffrey Okogbaa as Vice-Chancellor and Mr John Ansho is Registrar; Prof. James Ayatse is Vice-Chancellor for Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina while Mr Abubakar Yusuf is Registrar.

Others are Prof. Jibrila Amin for the Federal University, Dutse, and Alhaji Yusuf Adamu will be the Registrar; Prof. Oye Ibidapo-Obe is the Vice-Chancellor of Federal University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi, and Mr G.O. Chukwu is Registrar.

Prof. Chinedu Nebo is vice-chancellor for the Federal University, Oye-Ekiti and Dr. Modupe Ajayi; the Registrar, while Prof. Bolaji Aluko is the vice-chancellor for the Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa, and Mr David Suwari will be Registrar.

The government made available the sum of N10 billion for the start of the new schools, while N1.5 billion was released to the committee for all initial activities that would lead to the commencement of the institutions. The money was expected to be sProfpent on clearing the sites and providing take off facilities.

Prof Julius Okojie, the executive secretary of the National Universities Commission said that out of over 1.3 million candidates that sit for university entrance examinations every year, only about 300,000 are eventually admitted.

Mr. Okojie said that when sited in state, universities enhance development, adding that it was also an attempt by the government to address the problem of illegal tertiary education in the country.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.