Breaking News

Delta House clears DESOPADEC chair, 7 commissioners

By Austin Ogwuda & Emma Arubi

ASABA—Delta State  House of Assembly, yester-day, confirmed the appointment of a new Chairman for the Delta State Oil Producing Areas Development Commission, DESOPADEC, and seven others as Commissioners. Mr. Kingsley Otuaro was dropped while Mr. Oritsua Kpogho, was confirmed as Chairman of the Commission.

Others screen and confirmed were: Mr. Henry Ofa, Mr. Joseph Ogeh, Mr. Michael Diden, Mr. Johnson Boro, Mr. Chukwudi Eke, Mrs. Benedicta Izuegbu-Osakunih and Dr. Peter Egedegbe.

When it was Otuaro’s turn for screening, the Speaker, Mr. Victor Ochei, asked him to go back and clear the political issues he had.

Meanwhile, the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, chairman of Warri South-West Local Government Area, from where the nominee hails from in the Gbaramatu axis, Mr. Ayiri Emami, commended the courage of the Assembly by stepping down Otuaros’ confirmation, saying that he engaged in anti-party activities during the April 26, gubernatorial election.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.