Breaking News

18 high schools for maiden National Quiz Championship


Eighteen senior secondary schools selected from the six geo-political zones of the country based on outstanding WAEC/NECO performance are to participate in the maiden National High Schools Quiz Championship (NHSQC). Both private and public schools are involved in the competition termed as “The Champs.”

Disclosing this in a media briefing at LASU Guest House, Isolo Campus, Dr. Chidi Enwerem, National Project Coordinator, said the quiz project is an initiative aimed at “redirecting the mind and attention of youths within the secondary school age bracket towards education by creating fresh role models and making the entire process very rewarding to all the stakeholders which will include the selected participating schools, the competitors, the educational system and the prospective sponsors.”

Endorsed by the Federal Ministry of Education, West African Examination Council (WAEC), National Examination Council (NECO), NHSQC objectives include to rekindle the spirit of academic excellence and healthy competition, restore the lost glory of our public schools and private secondary schools across the country, create a feeling of acceptance and belonging in the minds of the students/participants, seek to reward teachers for their efforts and expose the participants to the concept of unity in the diversity of the country.

Others are to motivate, encourage and uphold scholarship spirit in the young minds, reward school administrators for excellence, encourage various participating states to invest in scholarship pursuits, reward the schools that advance in the competition and make the CHAMP school envy of its peers, handsomely reward the eventual CHAMPS and make them instant stars and role models.

The CHAMP will be transformed into Brand Ambassadors of select sponsors and partners.

“The credibility of this project is anchored on the level of cooperation that exist between Inquest Ltd. (the managing company) and the two reputable examination bodies (WAEC, NECO). We also enjoy the confidence and guarantee of the Federal Ministry of Education at the Federal Secretariat, Abuja,” Enwerem said.

Among the participating schools are Airforce Secondary School, Kaduna; Queens Science Academy, Hotoro, Kano; Government Rural Boarding Secondary School, Bindawa, Katsina; Loyola Jesuit College, FCT; Government Day Secondary School, Dabban Niger; Ocheba High School, Igan Ocheba, Kogi; Stella Maris Secondary School, Aba; Grundtig International Secondary School, Oba, Anambra; Rochas Foundation Secondary School, Owerri, Imo; International School, Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye; Olashore International School, Iloko Ijesha, Osun; Royal College Ovwian, Delta; Nifor Academy High School, Edo and Princess International College, Port-Harcourt.

According to the National Coordinator, the quiz championship will be broad-based and focus on all teachable subjects in the Nigerian secondary schools system. It shall embrace the Natural Science subjects, Arts, management and Social Science subjects.

admission into the university or tertiary education.”

He added: “The criteria for selection is purely on merit as data from the two major examination bodies (WAEC and NECO) in getting only schools that have consistently produced excellent results in the terminal examinations conducted by the two bodies.”


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.