Breaking News

World Cup 2014: Nigeria gets soft draw against Malawi

*May face Kenya, Namibia


Nigeria was Saturday,  in Brazil drawn in Group F of the 2014 World Cup qualifiers with Malawi and the winners of the preliminaries between Seychelles and Kenya and Djibouti versus Namibia as opponents.

Nigeria and nine other countries namely South Africa, Tunisia, Cote d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Egypt, Algeria, Cameroon and Senegal were seeded and thus top their various groups.

South Africa was drawn in Group A with Botswana, Central Africa Republic and the winner of the preliminary game between Somalia and Ethiopia while Tunisia top Group B and will battle Cape Verde, Sierra Leone, and the winner between Equatorial Guinea and Madagascar.

In Group C is Cote d’Ivoire as leaders with Morocco, Gambia and the winner of the tie between Chad and Tanzania while Ghana are in Group D with Zambia, Sudan and whoever wins the preliminary game between Lesotho and Burundi.

Burkina Faso which was surprisingly seeded ahead of Morocco leads Group E with Gabon, Niger and the winner between Sao Tome & Principe and Congo while Egypt are Group G leaders and face opposition from Guinea, Zimbabwe and the winner between the Comoros and Mozambique.

Algeria lead Group H and will contend with Mali, Benin Republic and the winner between Eritrea and Rwanda while Cameroon are pitched against strife-torn Libya and the winners in the ties between Guinea-Bissau and Togo as well as Swaziland versus Congo DR in Group I

Senegal head Group H and will battle Uganda, Angola and the winner of the prelim tie between Mauritius and Liberia.

The Draw

Group A: South Africa, Botswana, Central African Republic, Somalia or Ethiopia

Group B: Tunisia, Cape Verde Islands, Sierra    Leone, Equatorial Guinea or Madagascar

Group C: Cote d’Ivoire, Morocco, Gambia, Chad or Tanzania

Group D: Ghana, Zambia, Sudan, Lesotho or Burundi

Group E: Burkina Faso, Gabon, Niger, Sao Tome e Principe or Congo

Group F: Nigeria, Malawi, Seychelles or Kenya, Djibouti or Namibia

Group G: Egypt, Guinea, Zimbabwe, Comoros or Mozambique

Group H: Algeria, Mali, Benin, Eritrea or Rwanda

Group I: Cameroon, Libya, Guinea-Bissau or Togo, Swaziland or Congo DR

Group J: Senegal, Uganda, Angola, Mauritius or Liberia


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.