Breaking News

37 cabinet members take oath of office in Lagos

By Olasunkanmi Akoni & Monsur Olowoopejo

Governor Babatunde Fashola of Lagos State, yesterday,  presided over the administration of oath of office on the 37 newly appointed members of his cabinet. He also set agenda for them on performance.

The newly sworn-in members of the executive council, include 22 commissioners and 14 special advisers with Mr. Mukaila Babalola, returning as Chief of Staff, COS, and Mrs. Oluranti Adebule as Secretary to the State Government, SSG.

The new Commissioners and their portfolios are: Mr. Benjamin Akabueze, Economic Planning & Budget; Mr. Olutoyin Ayinde, Physical Planning & Urban Development; Mr. Tunji Bello, The Environment; Mr. Kayode Opeifa, Transportation; Mr Obafemi Hamzat, Works & Infrastructure; Mr. Jide Idris, Health; Mr. Adeola Ipaye, Attorney-General & Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Adetokunbo Abiru, Finance; Mr. Wale Ahmed, Special Duties; Mr. Oyinlomo Danmole, Home Affairs & Culture; Mr. Oladisun Holloway, Tourism.

Others are: Mr. Ibirogba Aderemi, Information & Strategy; Mr. Bosun Jeje, Housing; Mr. Ademorin Kuye, Local Government & Chieftaincy Affairs; Prince Gbolahan Lawal, Agriculture & Cooperatives; Mr. Adebiyi Mabadeje, Science & Technology; Mrs. Florence Oguntuase, Establishment & Training; Mrs Oworu Senakpon, Commerce; Mr. Cornelius Ojelabi, Rural Development; Mr. Adesegun Oniru, Waterfront Development & Infrastructure; Mr. Oshodi Enitan, Youths, Sports & Social Development; Mrs. Olayinka Oladunjoye, Education.

Special advisers

The Special Advisers include: Mr. Jimoh Ajao, Housing; Mr. Dolapo Badru, Youths, Sports & Social Development; Mrs. Yewande Adesina, Health; Mrs Aderinola Disu, Central Business District, CBD; Mr. Oladiran Folami, Environment; Mr. Ayo Gbeleyi, Public Private Partnership, PPP; Engr. Ganiyu Johnson, Works & Infrastructure.

Mr. Babatunde Hunpe, Rural Development; Mr. Olukoga Fatai, Education; Mr. Lateef Raji, Information & Strategy; Mr. Taofik Tijani, Mineral Resources; Mr. Seye Oladejo, Commerce & Industry; Mr. Adebayo Salvador, Parastatals Monitoring; and Mrs. Abimbola Sodipo, Taxation & Revenue.

However, commissioners and special advisers are yet to be appointed for the Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation Ministry, and Political and Legislative Bureau.

Speaking on the occasion, Fashola said the commissioners and Special Advisers were the privileged few to be chosen among the lots and that the hope of Lagos State residents depended on them.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.