Breaking News

Kanu tops Nigeria’s 50 greatest players

Former Super Eagles captain, Nwankwo Kanu who finally bowed out of the team after a testimonial at the Teslim Balogun stadium in Lagos last Saturday has emerged tops in Nigeria’s 50 greatest players of all time list drawn by

According to,  the search for Nigeria’s fifty greatest players of all time lasted from October 1, 2010 when the country clocked 50 years of independence to March 31, 2011.

“The international acclaim of great Nigerian teams from the USA 94 and France 98 Fifa World Cups and the 1996 Atlanta Olympics proved quite a strong influence in the voting, as did their exploits in Europe.

We did however get a great perspective on their preferences and to a great extent oral tradition played a huge part in some of the selections of the legends of folklore.

There were however so many great players who didn’t make the cut but again, it shows the quality of players that Nigeria has produced,” stated.

Kanu beat his immediate predecessor as Eagles captain, Austine Okocha to the second position while the man who Okocha succeeded, Sunday Oliseh came third in the poll. Rashidi Yekini, Segun Odegbami, Stephen Keshi, Emmanuel Amuneke, Finidi George, Christian Chukwu and the late Muda Lawal make up the top 10 in that order.

The players list.

1. Nwankwo Kanu
2. Austin Okocha
3. Sunday Oliseh
4. Rashidi Yekini
5. Segun Odegbami
6. Stephen Keshi
7. Emmanuel Amuneke
8. Finidi George
9. Christian Chukwu
10. Muda lawal
11. Peter Rufai
12. Daniel Amokachi
13. Taribo West
14. Uche Okechukwu
15. Teslim “Thunder”Balogun
16. Victor Ikpeba
17. Samson Siasia
18. Adokiye Amiesimaka
19Vincent Enyeama
20. Celestine Babayaro
21. Thomson Usiyan
22. Taiye ‘Taiwo
23. Henry Nwosu
24. Emmanuel Okala
25. Felix Owolabi
26. Haruna Ilerika
27. Joseph Yobo
28. Aloysius Atuegbu
29. Richard Owubokiri
30. Elkanah Onyeali
31. Patrick Ekeji
32. Best Ogedengbe
33. Bright Omokaro
34. Peter Anieke
35. Yisa Shofoluwe
36. Ben Iroha
37. Julius Aghahowa
38. Osaze Odemwingie
39. Albert Onyeawuna
40. Augustine Eguavoen
41. Yisa Shofoluwe
42. Obafemi Martins
43. Yakubu Aiyegbeni
44. Tijani Babangida
45. Tony Igwe
46. John Obi Mikel
47. Sam Garba Okoye
48. Friday Okoh
49. Etim Esin
50. Dan Anyiam


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.