OSOGBO— Osun State governor, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola may this week present list of the state commissioners to the state House of Assembly for approval. This was coming six months after his inauguration.

The fifth Assembly dominated by the ruling Action Congress of Nigeria, ACN, was last Thursday inaugurated by the state governor.

Hon. Nojeem Salami from Ejigbo state constituency emerged as the new Speaker while Akintunde Adegboye from Osogbo state constituency was elected his deputy.

Since his victory at the  appeal Court on 26th November 2010, he is yet to  appoint commissioners.

Before the court judgment, the PDP was controlling the House with 17 members while the ACN was having nine members.

Shortly after the inauguration of Aregbesola on 27th November last year, four members of the PDP decamped to ACN making the two parties to have 13 members each while all the principal officers are from PDP.

When the state governor was asked recently while he was yet to announced his commissioners he replied that his decision was strictly his constitutional right whenever he chooses to do so.

When contacted on the development, the ACN Director of Research and Strategy, Hon. Sunday Akere told our correspondent that: “The governor waited this long because of the lopsided representation in the former Osun Satate House of Assembly which the PDP were using as a tool for undeserved negotiation.”

“Now that the ACN has taken control of the House the governor will soon present a list of goal-getters and setters that will assist him in piloting the affairs of the state.”


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.