Breaking News

121 entries, 25 nominations for 2011 Nigeria Prize for Literature, Science

One hundred and twenty one  books from authors in Nigeria and diaspora will be competing for this year’s  Nigeria Prize for Literature.

The Emeritus Prof. Ayo Banjo-led Advisory Board for Literature has forwarded the entries to the Panel of Judges chaired by Akachi Adimora-Ezeigbo, Professor of English at the University of Lagos and a past winner of the prestigious Prize.

Other members of the panel of judges include, Prof Ini-Obong Uko, Prof Lekan Oyegoke, Prof David Ker, Prof Yakubu Nasidi, all well respected scholars and literary critics. The Nigeria Prize for Literature is awarded yearly to the best work alternating amongst four literary genres – prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature.  This year is for  children’s literature genre.

The Advisory Board for Science, led by Emeritus Professor Umaru Shehu, former director of World Health Organisation,  received twenty-five nominations for the 2011 prize and had also passed these to  the panel of judges for the science prize headed by Awele Maduemezia, a renowned Professor of Physics, fellow of the Academy of Science and former Vice Chancellor of Ambrose Alli University, for assessment. Prof. Maduemezia is also a former president, Nigerian Association of Mathematical Physics, an international non-governmental and non-profit scientific organisation which aims at promoting international cooperation in mathematics.

He will work with Profs. Lateef Salako, Olabopo Osuntokun, Gabriel Ogunmola and Vincent Olunloyo.
Prof. Akhaehomen Ibhadode won the prize in 2010 for his landmark discovery of new methods for precision die design, which will, amongst other things, help to develop local skills in the manufacturing industry and generate employment for more Nigerians.

A pre-eminent scientist with over 80 scholarly publications, including seven books, Ibhadode has supervised over 40 doctoral students.

The Nigeria Prize for Literature  and Nigeria Prize for Science now in their eighth year, are sponsored by Nigeria LNG Limited to reward excellence in works of outstanding merit in literature and science.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.