Breaking News

Furore in Osun as young politicians kick over list

By Godwin Oritse

THE ministerial list from Osun State is beginning to create furore as young politicians in the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)  have kicked against some of the names on the list and the move is causing some disquiet among politicians in the state

The names of the ministerial nominees include Senator Iyiola Omisore, Prince Olagunsoye Oyinlola Alhaji Isiaka Adeleke, Erelu Olusola Obada, Dr Yemi Farounbi, Chief Shuaib Oyedokun and  Hon Patricia Olubunmi Ette.  Others are Mr Fatai Akinbade, Francis Ade Fadahunsi and Dr Olu Alabi .

The young politicians have said that there are other sons and daughters of Osun State who would represent the state better than some of the people whose names appeared on the list of ministerial nominees.

Reacting to the list Hon. Ayo Areola, former Secretary of Oriade Local Government Council, said that some of the names of people on the list have had opportunities to contribute their own quota to the development of the state.

Areola said some of the politicians also failed to deliver their wards and local government to the party in the recently concluded elections.

Areola also  described the list as recycling and rehabilitation of some politicians who have neither delivered the dividends of democracy nor brought empowerment to the people of Osun State.

According to Areola, the in-fighting among these generation of old politicians which resulted in the political disequilibrium that made the party lose the election to the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) .

The former Council Secretary noted that some of the old politicians came into governance without any clear cut agenda on what to do for both the state and the people.

“The re-appointment of this same group of people to represent Osun state is unacceptable to us and we will vehemently oppose some of the names on the list.

“They have had their opportunity and done their best to provide leadership at whatever level theyoccupied, let us give others a chance to prove themselves” Areola stated.

He however commended the nomination  of Francis Ade Fadahunsi (a retired Assistant Comptroller General of Customs), Erelu Olusola Obada, Dr Yemi Farounbi, and Chief Oyedokun adding that these people were grass roots people who in their little way contributed to the fortunes of the state.

“We have a few of the nominees  who are newcomers and some  like Francis Fadahunsi, a retired Senior Customs officer has distinguished himself in the service of his fatherland.

“Chief Shuaib Oyedokun has also hepled in bringing stability to the state PDP despite the defeat suffered by the party”. He added

He stated that whatever victory that PDP recorded in the state for President Jonathan was on the merit of the President.

As lobbying for ministerial position thickens, the Osun state ministerial list is still generating controversy between the old and young  politicians in the state.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.