Breaking News

PDP rejects NASS election results in Imo

 Owerri – The PDP in Imo has rejected the  results  of the National Assembly election which declared Sen. Chris Anyanwu of APGA as winner in  Imo East Senatorial District as well as two other federal constituencies.

INEC had  returned Anyanwu, Eddie Mbadiwe and Francis Ezenwa, all of APGA, as winners of the polls in Imo East, Ideato North/Ideato South and Owerri Municipal/Owerri North Federal Constituencies  respectively.

The State Chairman of the party, Chief Eze Duruiheoma, told newsmen  in Owerri, Monday that the party would explore legitimate avenues to challenge the results.

Duruiheoma alleged that the poll was  marred by violence, especially in Owerri and its environs.

“The incidents appeared to have been widespread,” he said, adding: “In Owerri West and other areas, stories of brigandage were the norm.

“As a result of the incidents, the party hereby rejects the figures ascribed to it in Owerri senatorial district as well as Owerri and Ideato Federal Constituencies.

“Those figures are not the products of the election process which the voters in the constituency freely expressed by their votes,” he said.

He absolved INEC of complicity and urged it to reject the said bogus figures, arguing that the elections in the affected areas were won by PDP.

“PDP won the constituencies in question and will not relent to recover its stolen mandate,” he said.

He expressed “joy and happiness” over the outcome of the NASS elections in the state and the country, saying: “The Imo people have spoken.

“They have chosen PDP as their political party. They have shown preference for our party and everything it stands for. The people’s faith in PDP is not misplaced.”


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.