Breaking News

Banky, Dipp poised for battle in NMVA’10

By Lolade Sowoolu
The nominees list for Nigeria Music Video Awards (NMVA) 2010 was released earlier this week and it shows a fair distribution of nominations spread across 24 categories.

Banky W tops the table with four nominations – three for ‘Strong Ting’ video and the fourth for ‘Lagos Party’.  He ties the spot with singer-dancer-hunk, Dipp, who’s getting recognition for his electrifying outing in ‘Pop Up selecta’

Song bird, Kefee is next going head-to-head with Director Clarence Peters while pop icon 2Face is on same board with his protegee Solidstar, old timer Zakky, Young Hanz, Nikki Laoye and Directors Gbenga Salu and Sesan.


The event is scheduled to hold at the New Expo Hall, Lagos on the 28th November, 2010.

The NMVA is the pioneer music video awards in Nigeria and it is hosted by the Cally Ikpe led Callivision Network. The NMVA debuted in 2007 and is popular for recognising unpopular musical talent as expressed by the visual interpretation of their songs.

Other nominees on this year’s list include Bouqui, Dagrin, Mode Nine, Eva, Sound Sultan, Timaya, Jess Jagz, Goldie, Mike Anyasodo, Contradiction and General Pype.

Best Afro Hip-Hop
Zaaki – Catch Fire
Lynxxx – Change your Parade
Raw – O Chukwu
Nikky Laoye – Taka sufe     Dagrin – Pon pon pon

Best Mainstream Hip Hop
Bouqui – Take You Away        Jesse Jagz – Jago             Modenine –  Rhyme Tight
Young Hanz – Display
Overdose – Alujo

Best Contemporary Afro
Kefee – Thank God
Eva – Na so
Sound Sultan – 2010
Solid Star – One In a Million
Timaya – Plantain Boy

Best Afro Pop
D’banj – Endowed
2Face – Only Me
Goldie – You Know it
Banky W – Lagos Party
Wande Coal – Who born the Maga

Best Reggae/
Maheeda – Dutty Wine              General Pype – Champion       African China – If you love somebody
Code Read – Patricia
Ruffman – Beautiful

Best Gospel
Kefee – Thank God
KSB – Turn Me Around
Manie – Just Like You
Nikky Laoye – Taka sufe
Annie – Come and See

Best R ‘N’ B
Banky W – Strong Thing
Ibiyemi – Don’t leave me
Mike – Fine, fine lady
Essence ft Jaywon – Facebook love

Best High Life
Eedris – Calabar Girl
Bracket – Ada Owerri
J Martins – Iva
Gboof – Kwasa

Best Director        Wudi Awa            Clarence Peters        Mex

Best Video by a New Artiste
Solid Star – One In a Million
Mike Anyasodo – Fine fine lady
Young Hanz – Display
Mo Cheddah – If you want Me
Meshack – Feeling Inside

Video of the Year
Goldie – You Know it
2Face – Only Me
Banky W – Strong Ting
D’banj – Endowed
DIPP – Pop off selecta


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.