Breaking News

Soyinka emerges chairman of new party


NOBEL Laureate, Prof Wole Soyinka, has emerged national chairman of the newly registered party, the Democratic Front for a Peoples Federation (DFPF).

Soyinka, who was elected unopposed at the party’s convention held yesterday in Lagos promised to sanitize and transform Nigeria into a democratic sanctuary for all her citizens.

According to him, ‘`The DFPF, for now, is disinterested in the overall national scene. But after taking control in one state, one council, one ward, would begin to reach out through example to others, gradually evolving a civic rule that governs and performs through mutual collaboration.”

Soyinka said that the political model of the DFPF was practised in many parts of the world and urged the Independent Electoral Commission, INEC, to allow the party to limit itself to activities within one state.

He regretted that Nigeria has been sucked dry while a minority is so lubricated that they slip out of grasp when their hands are caught in the till.

“Let this party resolve to overturn the iniquitous arrangement by which the national cake is swallowed entirely by those whose appointed task is to serve the sovereign electorate, these and other anomalies will occupy the minds of this new party and their associates until the full transformation and re-humanization of the nation,” Soyinka added.

The Nobel Laureate disclosed that the DFPF was ready to work with parties whose written or unwritten manifestoes are in the spirit of the party.

Said that the late Beko Ransome-Kuti and the late Chima Ubani were founding members of the party which was denied registration when it was first founded in 2002.

In a goodwill message, the convener of the Save Nigeria Group, Pastor Tunde Bakare, said he was at the convention to identify with Soyinka. NAN reports that Niger Delta female activist, Ankio Briggs and the president of the Arewa Youth Consultative Forum, Alhaji Yerrima Shettima, were in absentia elected woman leader and vice chairman north east respectively at the convention.

Also at the convention were Mr Yinka Odumakin , Dr Joe Odumakin of Campaign for Democracy, Mr Tony Urantta of the United Niger Delta Energy Development Security Strategy, among others.•‘Beko, Ubani were founding members’


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.