June 9, 2010

Transport Minister Inaugurates legal Committee on National Transport Commission

By Godwin Oritse

The Honourable Minister for Transport, Yusuf Suleiman, has formally inaugurated the ministerial committee on the proposed National Transport Commission Bill.

Speaking while inaugurating the committee, the Minister stated that the event marks a turning point in the nation’s quest  for a multi-sector transport regulator.

He indicated that the primary purpose of economic regulation is to control the anti-competitive behaviour resulting from short-comings of the market place, while stating that stakeholders have persistently decried the regulatory vacuum that exists in the commercial aspects of the transport industry This has created room for arbitrary charges.

The Honourable Minister emphasised that the proposed Transport Commission, when set up, will be empowered amongst other things to carry out the  functions of regulating tariffs in the transport sector, issue licences to operators and set rules governing the provision of access to major infrastructure facilities.

Other regulatory functions will include; collating transport infrastructure information, and service delivery and resolution of disputes between parties in the transport industry. He urged the members of the committee to adopt a holistic approach in carrying out the assignment.

The Committee which has four weeks to conclude its assignment ,has as its chairman Dr Gbolahan Elias (SAN).Other members are;  Mrs Mfon Usoro, Alhaji Dikko Of the Infrastructure and Concession Regulatory commission (ICRC), Alhaji Kashiran of the Bureau for Public Enterprise (BPE), Mr Matthew Egbadon of the National Maritime Administration Authority (NIMASA).

,Mrs Obiageli  Anubi of the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Hassan Bello Nigerian Shippers council(NSC)  are also members. Mrs  Folakemi Adelore, Legal Adviser Federal Ministry of Transport, will serve as secretary of the committee.