Breaking News

Journalists converge for Golden Pen Award tomorrow

By Franklin Alli
Journalists in the  print media will converge tomorrow Friday for the second edition of the Nigerian Breweries Golden Pen Award. The event will hold at Eko Hotels and Suites, Victoria Island,Lagos.

According to Mr Yusuf Ageni, Corporate Affairs Adviser, the Award is designed to encourage media creativity and reward hard work in the industry.

“This year, the Nigerian Breweries Plc Golden Pen Reporter of the Year, will take home a sum of N500, 000, plus a brand new laptop, a coloured Printer and a Plaque. The second prize winner will receive the sum of N250, 000, a laptop, printer and a plaque, while the third prize winner will take home the sum of N150, 000, a Laptop, Printer and plaque.

In the photo category, the company said  Pen Photographer of the Year, will take home the sum of N250, 000, a laptop, printer and plaque; the second prize winner will go home with a cash prize of N150, 000, a lap top, printer and plaque, while the third prize winner will receive N100, 000, a lap top, printer and plaque,” he stated.

The criteria for the award are: Use of Space; Clarity of Message (including proper caption for photographs); Style of presentation (including action/movement in photographs), Depth and Insight. All stories and articles are being judged based on the above criteria.

Nigerian Breweries is investing heavily in the development of talents in various fields using different corporate and brand platforms as part of Corporate Social Responsibility. The Nigerian Breweries Plc Golden Pen Award is therefore part of this strategic initiative to support national development as a demonstration of our commitment to Winning with Nigeria. “This award is only but an indication of our goodwill towards the media and a genuine desire to support the cause of good journalism in Nigeria”

Published works about Nigerian Breweries in the print media was collated by The Quadrant Company, an independent media monitoring agency and judged by seasoned journalists and academicians. The Jury for the award is headed by a tested media and PR practitioner, Dr. Yemi Ogunbiyi. He is supported by Professor Ralph Akinfeleye, a Professor of Mass Communication in the University of Lagos and Mrs. Nkechi Ali-Balogun, PR Practitioner and immediate Past Chairman, NIPR Lagos state chapter as members.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.