Breaking News

Opara, 1981 elect/elect graduate, now SSAEAC’s President-General

A 1981 Elect/Elect graduate of Institute of Management Technology, IMT, Engr. Bede Opara, is now the President-General of Senior Staff Association of Electricity and Allied Companies, SSAEAC.

Engr. Opara who will be in the saddle for the next two years, was elected by members at the first Triennial National Delegates Conference of SSAEAC,  held at the New Gate Hotels, Abeokuta in Ogun State, recently.

Presently, Principal Manager, PHCN Transmission, Owerri, Engr. Opara attended IMT Enugu, between 1977 and 1981 where he graduated with HND in Elect/Elect,  and University of Calabar, UNICAL, between 1999 and 2002, for his Post Graduate Diploma , PGD, and Masters in Business Administration, MBA.

Born on August 7, 1957, the new SSAEAC’s President-General, obtained professional qualifications from Nigeria Society of Engineers, NSE, graduate ship exam (1990), Corporate member, NSE, 1995 and  Council for the regulation of Engineering in Nigeria, COREN.

A native of Ahiazu Mbaise Local Government Area of Imo state, Engineer Opara, also attended  many courses in engineering and industrial Relations (labour) both in and outside Nigeria.

Married with three children, his major achievements since employment include successful installation of 60mva Transformer at Onitsha (T/S), successful installation of 45mva transformer at Gombe, installation of 2No 132kv circuit breakers, rehabilitation of 330kv Isolators, successful installation of 60mva Transformer at Owerri (T/S) and successful rehabilitation of burnt 45mva Transformer.

According to Engr. Opara, his career objective “is to be a key player in the dynamic team that is determined to achieve a qualitative and reliable power supply by imbibing the highest              Professional ethics in managing the available resources.”

His hobbies include reading Bible and News Papers.
Other elected officers are Comrades. AM Ubabu II,  Deputy President- General (North);  D.A. Orhewere, Deputy President-General (South); Engr Chris Okonkwo,  Vice President-General (Professional);  P.C. Ozili, Vice President-General (East);  G.A. Oyelere as Vice President-General (West) and. A.I.R. Gold, Vice President-General (North). Also elected are Comrades .A.E.Haastrup,  Treasurer;  Nasir Danbo,1st Internal Auditor;  H.M. Ogbonna,  2nd Internal Auditor;  A.R. Raji, 1st Trustee;  O.K. Adeyemo,  2nd Trustee,  G.C. Chukwurah,  3rd Trustee and J.E. Emerho as  Welfare Officer.

Elected zonal coordinators are Comrade .H.l.O. Bresford-Cole (Lagos),  J.O. Adetunji (West), C.C.Ozougwu. (East),  O.O. Nwosu (Delta), P.O. Oyelayo. (Kainji/Jebba) and Tunde Fadipe (Benin).

The conference was graced by the Hon. Minister of Power, represented by the adviser to the Minister on Labour, Alh Salihu; the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer (MD/CEO) of PHCN, represented by GM (IR) Mr. Clement Odumodu; the Director of state Security services, the President- General of Trade Union Congress of Nigeria, TUC, Comrade Peter Esele, represented by Comrade.

Lawal, the Secretary-General National Union of Electricity Employees, NUEE, Comrade Joe Ajaero, represented by Comrade. Ntukube, His Royal Highness, Oba (Apostle) Moses A.A. Olabode, the Oba of Imala Land and others.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.