The 2009 Glo-CAF Platinum Award will be presented to the President of Ghana, Professor John Atta Mills, who is expected to head the long list of dignitaries at the awards ceremony scheduled for the State House Banquet Hall, Accra tomorrow.

He is expected to lead a high-powered team of former Presidents and members of his cabinet to the awards which his country will be hosting for the second time.

Two former leaders of Ghana expected at the event are the immediate past President, John Agyekum Kuffour and his predecessor, Jerry John Rawlings. Kuffour received the 2006 Glo-CAF Platinum Award for his excellent support of sports in Ghana and Africa .

Expected in the President’s entourage are other high ranking members of the cabinet led by the Vice-President, John Dramani Mahama, members of the Legislature and the Judiciary.

The CAF President, Issa Hayatou arrived Accra yesterday at the head of the Confederation’s delegation that also included the two Vice-Presidents and members of the Executive Committee.

Globacom officials expressed delight that a good number of the nominees for the different award categories have confirmed their attendance at the ceremony which has pitched Ivory Coast ’s Didier Drogba, Ghana ’s Michael Essien and Cameroon’s Samuel Eto Fils in the race for the diadem.

It will also be a gathering of former African football greats including the three nominees for the African Legend Award, Stephen Keshi of Nigeria , Jules Bocande of Senegal and Mr. Oswaldo Oliveira Saturnino Jesus, who will be at the event with several former international stars including Abedi Pele Ayew, Victor Ikpeba, Austin Eguavoen, Samson Siasia, Tony Baffour, Osei Kuffour, Peter Rufai and Cameroon’s Martins Etonge.

Sponsors of the awards, Globacom has also promised a spectacular and memorable event as has been the case in the previous editions. Besides government and sports personalities that will attend the event, stars from the entertainment industry from Africa will also grace the occasion with their performances.

The company disclosed that leading musicians from across the continent who will perform at the event include Nigeria’s P_Square twins, Senegal’s Ishmael Lo, South Africa’s Three Tons of Fun and Benin Republic’s Zaynab. Ghanaian artistes billed for the awards are Jadu Blay Ambolley, Sherifa, Kwabena Kwabena and Pat Thomas.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.