Breaking News

AC leaders decamp to PDP in Adamawa

By Umar Yusuf

YOLA —  Three members of the Adamawa State House of Assembly elected on  the platform of Action Congress, AC,  have dumped the party and pitched tent with the People’s Democratic Party, PDP.

The members believed to be among the top AC  stalwarts in the state are, Ahmed Sajo Gella from Mubi South, Michael Zidon from Lamurde and AHmadu Umar of Madagali constituencies.

The decamping of the members came even as the state Executive Council of the AC passed a vote of no confidence in its chairman, Chief Lynn Nathan, for alleged ineptitude.

Announcing their declaration for the PDP on the floor of the House, the members said their former party had lost focus, even as it is characterised by weak leadership.

The decampees accused the leadership of AC of resorting to personal interest in the pursuit of issues that affect the party, and described the party and its leadership as non existence in the state.

The legislators also adduced their action to the infrastructural development achieved by the Murtala Nyako-led PDP government, saying they were convinced that PDP is the only party that can salvage the state.

Receiving the decampees, Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Mr James Barka, applauded the efforts of his colleagues and urged them to join hands with other PDP members to move the party and state forward.

Meanwhile, the embattled state chairman of the AC, Chief Nathan has reacted to the purported vote of no confidence passed in his leadership.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.