Breaking News

Awogbade wins Ikoyi Captain’s Day tourney

By Richard Animam The 2010 Ikoyi Club 1938 (Golf Section) Captains Day  (Docky’s Day 2010) has been won by handicapper 16 Soji Awogbade who defeated a strong field to win with 66 net.

Played over 18 holes last Saturday, the outgoing captain of the section, Demola Mumuney led the field of over 100 qualifiers, defying the windy and raining condition to celebrate their lovable captain.

Speaking at the evening dinner/prize presentation, the outgoing captain thanked members for their support while he was in the saddle of leading the club for a year.

Mumuney who took over the leadership mantle of the club from Seyi Johnson in 2009 said he was especially elated with the support he enjoyed from other members of his committee and members of the 2008 Nigeria Cup Committee when he served as Vice-captain.

“I cannot thank you enough for the support I got from all members as captain. Even as Vice_captain I enjoyed the support of all and I must confess it is an honour to serve this great club”.

Mumuney said his tenure had offered him an opportunity to serve the golf section at the highest capacity, adding that he was ready to serve when called upon.

The 18-hole tournament is to celebrate the stewardship of the captain who has served the section meritoriously for a year.

The outgoing Captain served as Vice_captain under the captaincy of Johnson during which he also organised the 2008 Nigeria Cup before stepping up to serve as Captain.

The Docky’s Day 2010 teed off at 6.45 am with the first group of players on the course while the last group teed off by 1.30pm.

Winner of the tournament, Awogbade, who incidentally is a former captain of the section, said he was elated to have won the prestigious trophy.

Single handicapper L. B Tanimola smiled home with the Gross event (74) while Y. Sanni won the Guest category. Mrs. Lalla Tramontini took home the ladies tournament top prize, netting 67 net.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.