Breaking News

Ikpeba to unveil Glo-CAF Award nominees

Former African Footballer of the Year, Victor Ikpeba and two former Chairmen of the Nigeria Football Federation will be the star guests when telecommunication giant, Globacom and Confederation of African Football (CAF) unveil the five leading contenders for the 2009 African Footballer of the Year in Lagos today.

Former helmsmen of the football association, Group Captain John Obakpolor and General Dominic Oneya are among other football personalities that will grace the ceremony to be conducted by Suleiman Habuba, the Communications Director of CAF at Mike Adenuga Towers, the corporate headquarters of Globacom.
A host of other football personalities including CAF Match Commissioner, Paul Bassey, Taiwo Afinnih, the Lagos FA Chairman and Chief Mike Umeh, the Chairman of Anambra State Football Association are expected to grace the occasion.

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) will at the occasion announce the top five nominees voted by members of the Media and Technical Committee of CAF and Ikpeba, who won the awards in 1997 will be on hand to announce some of the nominees.

“We have received the shortlist of nominees from the technical and media committees of CAF and in line with the tradition, the nominees will be made public at the press conference in Lagos. This is just the beginning of the process of selecting nominees for the prestigious Glo-CAF Awards ceremony as the five highest scoring nominees will be forwarded to all the national team coaches of CAF member federations for their vote”, Habuba explained.

Ikpeba, whose career at Monaco in France blossomed under Coach Arsene Wenger, now of Arsenal, expressed delight at being invited to the press conference and said his acceptance to attend the ceremony was a mark of appreciation to CAF for honouring him with an award in the past. He added that “it is also my personal show of solidarity with the Globacom brand for the massive investment in football and empowerment of the youths of Africa”.

Togo international and former Arsenal forward, Emmanuel Adebayor who now plays for Manchester City, is the reigning Glo-CAF Player of the Year. Adebayor, who was crowned in Lagos at a colourful ceremony attended by the FIFA President, Sepp Blatter and other World football leaders, piped Ghana’s Michael Essien to second place.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.