Breaking News

2009 GLO-CAF Award Nominees emerge Dec 10

The race for  the 2009 Glo-CAF Player of the Year has narrowed down to the final selection of five nominees as the Media  Committee and the Technical and Development Committee of  the Confederation of  African Football (CAF) have sent in their votes in line  with the procedure for  the selection of nominees for the prestigious  award.

Suleiman  Habuba, the CAF Director of  Communications, said the nomination forms which were sent to all the 12 members  of the Media Committee and 17 members of the Technical and  Development Committee have been returned. The committee members vote  for players in scores of 5-1 with five being the highest and one is the lowest.

The five players with  the highest points will be announced at a Press Conference in Lagos on Thursday, December 10.
He said that  as usual, the nominations have  been based on players’ performance for club and country from January 2009  till date and that the nominations cover all African  players in European and the domestic African club leagues.

“The  nomination is just the beginning  of the process of selecting nominees for the prestigious Glo-CAF Awards  ceremony as the five highest scoring nominees will be  forwarded to all the  national team coaches of CAF member federations for their vote”, Habuba  explained.

Togo international and  former Arsenal forward, Emmanuel Adebayor, who now plays for  Manchester City, is the reigning Glo-CAF Player of the Year.

Adebayor, who  was crowned in  Lagos at a colourful ceremony attended by the FIFA President, Sepp Blatter, and other World football leaders, piped Ghana’s  Michael Essien to second place.

The awards ceremony sponsored by  telecommunications giant, Globacom, has been held in Abuja, Accra, Lome and  Lagos. The venue for the  2009 edition will be announced at the press conference.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.