Breaking News

Yar’ Adua approves 3 for National Merit award

By Abdulwahab Abdulah

LAGOS — The Federal Government yesterday announced that only three Nigerians qualified for this year’s edition of the prestigious Nigerians National Order of Merit (NNOM) awards.

Announcing the successful Nigerians for the award in Lagos, Chairman of the Board of Nigerian National Merit Award (NNMA), Professor Oluwafeyisola Adegoke, said: “After  thorough screening of over 45 Nigerians who applied for the national honour, President Umaru Yar’Adua has approved the conferment of the NNOM on Ms Mabel Dorothy Okanima-Segun, a literary giant; Professor Ayo Banjo, former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan and Professor Aderemi Oluyomi Kuku, an American-based Nigerian mathematician.”

The NNOM, the awarding body, was established 30 years ago by Act 53 of the 1979 as amended by Act 96 of 1992, and empowered to confer the prestigious Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM) on Nigerians who have contributed outstandingly to national development and have distinguished themselves in their field of endeavour.

According to Adegoke, the award was always conferred on the recipient on the first Thursday of December of the year by the President.

Besides, he announced that there would also be an annual forum tagged “Forum of Laureates” to be held on December 1-2, 2009 where intellectuals would deliberate and discuss on the Theme: “Development, a Road Map for Attainting the Goals of Vision 20-2020, Visions Slogans and Realities.”


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.