Breaking News

NOPA honours Vanguard, Mike Adenuga, Walter Ofonagoro, others

Vanguard Newspapers, business mogul Mike Adenuga, former Information Minister Walter Ofornagoro, Nollywood stars, Kate Henshaw- Nuttal, Stephanie Okereke, Chinedu Ikedieze (Aki) and Osita Iheme(Pawpaw), are among distinguished Nigerians and corporate organizations selected to be honoured during the third edition of the Nollywood Outstanding Personality Awards (NOPA), billed to hold on Sunday, December 6, at the prestigious White House, Ikeja, Lagos.

Addressing the press on Monday, ahead of the award ceremony,  the CEO of NOPA, Mr. Stanley Okoronkwo, disclosed that  the awardees are selected based on merit and not that of favouritism, adding that “the awards are for those that deserve to be honoured. NOPA does not know ethnicity, religion or creed. I am sure that our list will speak for itself.”

NOPA, according to Mr. Okoronkwo,  “is instituted to celebrate excellence and honour high achievers, institutions and corporate bodies that have contributed to the existence, growth and acceptance of Nollywood as a universal brand.

“Some of these people still believed in Nollywood and gave it their best even when the industry could not put foods on their tables. They made it what it is tody and this is why we celebrate them,” he stressed.

Other awardees include notable female film maker,  Emem Isong, who will be recognized for her creativity as a producer and screen writer, pioneer make-up artiste, Dagogo Diminas, Director of Photography, Jonathan Gbemutor for his versatility and top director, Adim Williams whose movies have brought so many stars into limelight. Also, film critic and journalist, Shuaibu Husseni and former Arts Editor of Thisday, Oji Onoko respectively will receive the Diamond Pen Awards.

Okoronkwo named  Otunba Mike Adenuga “Nollywood Man of the Year” for his passion for the entertainment industry and upliftment of Nollywood, while Dr. Walter Ofornagoro he said will be investitured with a Life Achievement for his contributions to Nollywood and works of arts in general while in office as the Minister of Information and Culture and as the Director General of NTA whose impacts are still felt and unrivalled.”

Also, “former governor of Lagos State, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, will be given a Special Recognition Award for his tenure during which Nollywood reached its peak due to his provision of a conducive environment that encouraged the activities of Nollywood, while Chie Albert Barry Ezenwanne, the CEO of Today’s Cars, will be honoured for his supportive role to Nollywood by availing his vehicles for movie productions, especially in its early days.

However, Okoronkwo said, Vanguard Newspaper is to be honoured for its incisive coverage and reportage of Nollywood, while movie critics, Shuaibu Husseni and Oji Onoko will receive the Diamond Pen Awards.

Chinedu Ikedieze who was present at the media parley said, “I feel very glad to be nominated for NOPA. I believe in NOPA but I never knew it would come to me this year.”

The 2009 edition of NOPA will hold at White House on Toyin Street, Ikeja, on the 6th of December. The event is expected to kick off with a red carpet Champagne soiree at 4pm with lots of Networking, paparazzi and razzmatazz.

Artistes to thrill the guests include Kaffy, Delaman, Citizens, MC 90s, Meg, among others.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.