Breaking News

Uduaghan sends list of 12 new commissioner nominees to DTHA

By Austin Ogwuda
ASABA—GOVERNOR Emmanuel Uduaghan of Delta state yesterday sent a list of twelve nominees for appointment as commissioners into the State Executive Council, following the sack of eleven commissioners last week.

The names were sent to the State House of Assembly for screening, even as lobby continued unabated, despite the fact that the governor had gone underground due to mounting pressures.

On its part, the Ogume Study Group, which had earlier complained of alleged marginalization in power sharing this time around sent seven names to the governor for consideration to fill the Ndokwa West commissionership slot, which include Comrade Edward Akpati Ogude, a one-time Chairman of Delta State Council of Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ).

The commissionership-nominees as contained in the letter from the governor read on the floor of the Hosue during yesterday’s sitting are as follows: Mr. Bello Orubebe, Dr. Chris Oghenechovwen, Mr. Victor E. Otomewo, Mr. Frank Omare, Mrs. Juliet Oti Agoba and Anthony Akpomiemie.

Others are Mr. Fred Majemite, Mr. Azuka Osakwe, Mr. George Ugboma, Mr. Emmanuel Eboh, Dr. Onochie Okonkwo and Mr. Pat Mozea.

Governor Uduaghan in the letter addressed to the Speaker of the House said “the appointment is supposed to strengthen the capacity of the State Executive Council for better and greater service delivery to the people of the state”.

The following Commissioners were last week sacked:  Mr. Abraham Bobor, former Commissioner for Housing, Paul Osaji (Works), Mrs. Elizabeth Uvoh-Gardner (Primary Education), Gilbert Benafa (Transport), Mrs. Chinwe Monu-Olarewaju (Commerce/Industry), Timinimi George (Water Resources), Roland Eyime (Science/Technology), Dafe-Akpedeye (Attorney-General/Justice), Champion Kpateghe (Special Duties, Government House) and Dr. Tab-Ogaranya Tabowei (Agriculture).


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.