By Ehis Osajie
Mega Party MOnday in Abuja announced the participation of international  statesmen including revered former President Nelson Mandela of South Africa and  JJ Rawlings of Ghana  at its forth coming National Summit on Democracy initiated to give birth to a broad platform that will pursue unlimited political reform in the country.

According to a statement by Alhaji Hamisu San Turaki, Director of Media and Publicity of the group, the event scheduled  for 6th and 7th  October will have in attendance not less than “95 eminent Nigerians, 45 political parties, 207 civil society/sectoral platforms and 12 associations of Nigerians in Diaspora have confirmed attendance at the summit, which promises to be the biggest independent political gathering since the 2006 PRONACO Confab.

He added that “both Alhaji Atiku Abubarkar and General Mohammadu Buhari were among the first statesmen to confirm their presence at the summit.

“The two day confab is also billed to also have either former President Nelson Mandella of South Africa or JJ Rawlings of Ghana as Chairman. But they are yet to confirm participation although they have been contacted by the MSM Secretariat to deliver keynote messages at the summit.   Turaki said

According to him,  “the confirmation of both Alhaji Atiku Abubakar and General Mohammadu Buhari last week is driven by a recent resolve by the two leaders that their best bet is to work within the proposed mega party, anchored by Mega Summit Movement so as to enrich the synergy with other prominent politicians from other geopolitical zones.”

He also “debunked a false media report that the MSM secretariat is presently controlled by civil society component of the movement.  He said “the claim is imaginary as the secretariat is currently  being driven by seasoned politicians such as Engr Buba Galadima of  The Buhari Organisation, Mallam Yinusa Tanko of National Conscience Party, Mr Sam Onimisi of Democratic Peoples’ Alliance, Mr Osita Okechukwu of ANPP, Sir Wale Okunniyi (HOS), National Reformation Party led by Chief Anthony Enahoro, Alhaji Hamisu San Turaki of Alliance for Democracy among others.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.