Breaking News

Anambra 2010: APGA guber aspirants to pay N5m

By Chris Ochayi

Abuja – All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) aspirants wishing to contest the Anambra  governorship election in February 2010 are expected to pay a non- refundable nomination  fee of N5 million.

APGA’s national secretary, Mr Bello Umar announced this in a statement in Abuja, yesterday.He  said female aspirants were exempted from paying the prescribed fee “in line with the party’s policy on women”.

According to the statement, a Seven-man Committee, saddled with the responsibility of conducting the congress, will be inaugurated tomorrow in Abuja.

Members of the committee include Chief Sydney Dike, as Chairman, John Ewodage, Chief Kunle Ayorinde, Micheal Anedu, Benson Agada, G. U. Uba and A. B. Muazu as members.

The statement further said all appeals arising from the outcome of the state congress would be disposed of by a special panel.

He said the party would do everything within its powers and the confines of the Nigerian constitution to protect members’ votes and prevent rigging by desperate political parties during the governorship election.

“We wish to re-state the party’s strict adherence to transparent, free, fair and credible primary election for the purpose of electing our governorship candidate,” it said.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.