Breaking News

5 banks: Senate summons Sanusi, Aondoakaa, Waziri

By Emmanuel Aziken
ABUJA — The Senate has summoned the Governor of the Central Bank, Mallam Lamido Sanusi and the Attorney-General of the Federation, Mr. Michael Aondoakaa (SAN) to brief it on the propriety of the CBN Governor’s action in dismissing the management of five banks.

Also to appear before the Senate in a closed-door session next Tuesday is the Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, Mrs. Farida Waziri.


Meanwhile, President Umaru Yar’Adua has forwarded the name of Dr. Kingsley Moghalu to the Senate for confirmation as the Deputy Governor of the Central Bank.

Senate summons Sanusi, Aondoakaa

The Senate resolution taken yesterday was upon a motion raised by Senator Nkechi Nwaogu, chairman of the Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other Financial Institutions.

Moving the motion yesterday, Senator Nwogu (PDP, Abia Central) said the reforms initiated by the new CBN management was of fundamental importance that demanded the attention of the Senate.

Senator Nwogu who came by way of a point of order as the motion was not listed on the day’s order paper was, however, cut short by Senator Olorunnimbe Mamora (AC, Lagos East) who while agreeing with the urgency of the matter, nevertheless, drew the attention of the Senate to subsisting court processes arising from the banking reforms.

He submitted that the Senate could invite those concerned to brief the Senate in a closed session.

Intervening, the President of the Senate, Senator David Mark who presided at the day’s session said: “We are all aware that the matter is in court, but my idea is that we take it in closed session and that we hear those involved.’’

Yar’Adua nominate Moghalu

Beside Moghalu, in conformity with the new CBN Act, the President also made nominations to the Senate for approval into the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the CBN.

The nominations which were received on resumption of plenary Senate sitting after the eight-week Senate holidays came along with the fresh nomination of Alhaji Umaru Ibrahim as an Executive Director of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation, NDIC.

Also received yesterday was the nomination of Mr. Joe Jakpa to represent the oil producing companies on the board of the Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC. Jakpa is to replace Dr. Daru Owei who did not appear for the confirmation hearing before the Senate committee on the Niger Delta.

Those nominated as members of the CBN’s MPC are Dr. Adedoyin Salami, John Osilaja, Professor Chibuke Ugochukwu Uche, Dr. Shehu Yahya and Abdul-Ganiyu Garba.

The nominations were conveyed in letters addressed to the Senate President which were received during the Senate recess.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.