Breaking News

Yar’Adua moves to check indiscriminate award of national honours

By Daniel Idonor

Abuja – Piqued by the rather indiscriminate award of Nigeria’s highest honours on people of questionable characters, President Umaru Yar’Adua yesterday moved towards restoring sanity to the system when he approved the reconstitution of the Standing Committee on National Honours.

According to a statement issued by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mr Olusegun Adeniyi, the move was spurred by the determination of the President “to restore integrity and credibility to the process leading to the conferment of Nigeria’s national honours and recognition.”

The statement further said the list of the seven-member committee had Justice S. M. A. Belgore, a retired Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), as Chairman.

Others are Alhaji Aminu Saleh, Professor Attahiru Jega, Ambassador (Dr.) C. Kolade, Mrs. Grace Archibong, Professor M. Ikejiani-Clark, and Alhaji Muhammed Hayatudeen.

The statement noted that the appointment is for a period of four years.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.