Breaking News

Mimoko, Oni to grace OAU Alumni Award

By Prince Osuagwu
Governors of Ekiti State and Ondo States, Gbenga Oni, and Olusegun Mimiko respectively are among the top dignitaries expected to grace the award ceremony in which 12 Obafemi Awolowo University Alumni who are palying significant roles in driving ICT growth and national development will be honoured by the OAU Alumni, Lagos Branch.

The award ceremony holds  Wednesday,  at the Eko Hotel and Suites under the chairmanship of the university’s Vice Chancellor, Professor Michael Faborode.

Chairman of the award ceremony, Dr Olusanya Awosan said at the weekend that both governors who are alumni of OAU have been invited to attend the event as special guests of honour. The event which is alread drawing a deluge of exciting comments on Face Book is expected to draw a crowd of OAU alumni, ICT stakeholders and wellwishers.

According to the Chairman of the OAU Alumni Lagos Branch, the Chief Host of the event, Honourable Laitan Akinwunmi, the event will be a rallying point and a day of wholesome pride for all OAU Alumni, not only in Lagos, but also in the diaspora. “Hard work, honest enterprise and laudable achievements must be celebrated to serve as template for others to follow”, he says, adding that “though only 12 will be honoured on the day, there are numerous other OAU alumni in the ICT sector and indeed other human endeavour that are a pride to Great Ife”.

Already 11 out of the 12 that are billed to be honoured have communicated their acceptance of the recognition and attendance of the event.

Those to be honoured include Engineer Ernest Ndukwe, Executive Vice Chairman (EVC) of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), who is redefining corporate governance in Nigeria and is a light to others not only nationally but internationally. Also Professor Cleopas Angaye, Director General of Nigeria Information Technology Agency (NITDA) NITDA, known as one of the leading international software experts is on the list and Dr Emmanuel Ekuwem, president of Association of Telecommunications Companies of Nigeria (ATCON) and CEO of Teledon, a company .

The list also includes Mrs Florence Seriki, CEO of Omatek and pioneer PC Assembly Company in Nigeria, as well as  Funke Opeke, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of MainOne, a submarine fibre optic cable company.


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.