Breaking News

Fashola, Saraki, other govs shun merit awards

By  Tordue Salem

ABUJA – Eight Governors across geo-political zones at the weekend turned down invitation for the “Nigerian Youth Merit Award” in Abuja. All the Governors were designated as awardees for their efforts in youth development in Nigeria.

The Governors are: Babatunde Fashola of Lagos State, Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State, Ibrahim Shekarau of Kano State, Christopher Adebayo Alao-Akala of Oyo State, Muhammed Danjuma Goje of Gombe State, Sullivan Chime of Enugu State, Bukola Saraki of Kwara State and Ikedi Ohakim of Imo State.

The event which held at the International Conference Centre on Friday till dawn, was organised by the Nigerian Youth Council of Nigeria, NYCON with FlyTime Promotions.

Though none of the Governors showed up for the event, the organisers awarded the Governor of Akwa Ibom State, the most youth-friendly Governor in Nigeria, his Oyo state counterpart, Alao-Akala got the most youth-friendly Governor in the South-West, while Bukola Saraki was announced as the most youth-friendly Governor in the North-Central.

Mallam Shekarau was announced as the most youth-friendly Governor in North-West, the Governor of Gombe State, Danjuma Goje, got the most Youth-friendly Governor in the North-East, the Governors of Lagos, Imo and Enugu States were all listed as nominees for either the most youth-friendly Governor of the South-West or South-East respectively.

The National Vice-President of the National Youth Council of Nigeria (NYCON), Comrade Marvin Yobana who said the event was the first of its kind in Nigeria, expressed disappointment that non of the Governors showed up to be personally honoured.

“I am very surprised that no governor is here (at the event). We thought these Governors were youth-friendly, that was why, we organised this important event for them.

But none of the Governors is here. We thought this would be an opportunity to interact, because you know Governors are very flamboyant and aloof. No youth gets close to them”, he contended.

Other awardees in Music, ICT, Acting and Fashion categories went to Innocent Tuface Idibia, Gbenga Sesan, Funke Akindele and Ade Bakare respectively


Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.