Breaking News

    Germany earn $35m for winning World Cup

    AFTER Germany defeated Argentina in extra time of the final of the World Cup, not only did they get to hoist an 18-carat trophy, but they also hauled off a cool $35 million.

    It’s fitting that the largest prize in World Cup history was distributed in the most expensive World Cup in history. Spain, winner of the 2010 World Cup, received $30 million.

    That money is the only thing Germany get to keep (except for bragging rights) since the expensive trophy stays with FIFA and teams are given a cheaper replica.

    Argentina received $25 million as the runner-up, which is up from $24 million in 2010. The Netherlands earned $20 million for finishing third and Brazil earned $18 million for fourth place.

    Here’s a look at the prize money distribution for the 2014 FIFA World Cup:
    Group Stage (16 eliminated teams): $8 million each  Round of 16 (eight losers): $9 million each
    Quarterfinals (four losers): $14 million each
    Fourth place: $18 million
    Third place:: $20 million
    Runner-up: $24 million
    Winner: $35 million


    Comments expressed here do not reflect the opinions of vanguard newspapers or any employee thereof.