2014 Lagos State Sports Festival Torch tour begins

on   /   in Sports 10:08 am   /   Comments

Lagos – The Local Organising Committee (LOC) of the 2014 Lagos State Sports Festival, tagged `Ibile Games’ on Sunday presented the Games’ `Torch of Unity’ to `Conference 57′, to mark the commencement of the Games.

Conference 57 is made up the 20 LGAs and the 37 LCDAs, in the state, headed by Akeem Omoyele Sulaimon of Bariga LCDA.

A statement released by the LOC said the torch would be taken through all the state LGs and LDCAs, before the commencement of the Games.

The Ibile Games has been scheduled to run from April 30 to May 10.

It also said that Hakeem Adisa Bamgbola, Secretary of the Joint Allocation Committee (JAC), who received the torch during their meeting, said it symbolised the beginning of the Games.

“I think IBILE Games 2014 just started with us receiving the torch, before it travels to all the local councils in the state,” said Bamgbola, who is also the Executive Chairman of Itire/Ikate LCDA.

According to the itinerary of the tour released by the LOC, the torch tour will begin on April 21 with visits to Iru-Victoria Island, Lekki, Eti-Osa, Eti- Osa East, Ibeju Lekki and Ikoyi-Obalende.

On April 23, it would be the turn of Coker-Aguda, Itire-Ikate, Odi-Olowo/Ojuwoye, Mushin, Onigbongbo, Shomolu, Bariga, Kosofe, Agboyi-Ketu and Ikosi-Isheri.

On April 24, the torch would tour Oshodi-Isolo, Isolo, Ejigbo, Igando- Ikotun, Egbe-Idmu, Agege, Alimosho, Ayobo-Ipaja, Agbado-Oke Odo, Ojokoro, Mosan-Okunola, Orile-Agege, Ifako-Ijaiye and Ojodu.

It would also tour Amuwo-Odofin, Ojo, Iba, Otto-Awori, Oriade, Ifelodun, Ajegunle, Apapa and Apapa-Iganmu.
On April 28, the torch would visit Ikorodu Central, Igbogb-Baiyeku, Ikorodu West, Ikorodu North, Yaba, Lagos Mainland, Lagos Island East, Lagos Island, Ikeja and Surulere.

On April 29, it would be the turn of Epe, Eredo, Ikosi-Ejirin, Imota and Ijede.
The torch tour would be rounded off on April 30, with visits to Badagry, Badagry-West and Olorunda. (NAN)

    Print       Email