Flying Eagles begin second phase training with 55 players

on   /   in Sports 9:23 am   /   Comments

Abuja – The second phase of the training camp by the Flying Eagles, Nigeria under-20 male football team, will begin in Abuja on Monday, March 17 with 55 players.

The team’s Media Officer, Samm Audu, said in a statement on Saturday in Abuja that the expected players would be made up of two groups of players.

“These are 35 players from the open trials and the 20 other players who were involved with the country’s under-17 team, the Golden Eaglets, last year,’’ he said.

The Flying Eagles have picked 35 players after an intensive two-week open screening in Abuja, which attracted over 1,500 hopefuls.

Audu quoted the team’s head coach, Manu Garba, as saying he was expecting his task to be much harder now with this latest stage of preparation.

“We (the team’s technical crew) expect a much fiercer competition in the second phase and players need to be more consistent to survive then,” Garba had said.

The statement said Garba was planning to form a standing team soon, in time for the Flying Eagles’ African Youth Championship (AYC) qualifying fixture.

Nigeria are billed to face either Kenya or Tanzania in early May.

The open screening for the new Flying Eagles, which was the team’s first phase of training camp, had been held from March 3 to March 7.

It was held at the FIFA Technical Centre of the Abuja National Stadium.

Meanwhile, the list of players picked from the team’s open screening has goalkeepers Joshua Enaholo, Adamu Abubakar, Amos Benjamin and Zaradeen Usman.

It also has defenders Babatunde Ade, Baba Ghaddafi, Mazadu Abdullahi, Julius Emalaju, Chukwuma Okpara, Timothy Danladi, Ifeanyi Nweke and Bashir Mansur.

The midfielders are Anthony Omaka, Fidelis Irene, Samuel Mathias, Uche Okeke, Aremu Abdulhafeez, Raphael Ayagwa, Alashe Ajibola, Shabanya Jonathan, Uche Chibueze, Bankole Segun, Salman Ibrahim and Jimoh Wasiu.

The strikers are Suleiman Abdullahi, Abubakar Lawal, Billy Auta, Mahmoud Mohammed, Orji Promise, Aliyu Jandi, Victory Omadigbe, Eze Chisom, Yakubu Mohammed, Peter Araodion and Isaac Uduak.(NAN)

    Print       Email