FIFA unveils World Cup team base camps

on   /   in Sports 2:27 pm   /   Comments

RIO DE JANEIRO (AFP) – FIFA on Saturday unveiled the definitive list of base camps for the 32 nations participating at this year’s World Cup in Brazil.

Most teams — 24 in all — will be based in the south east of the country, 15 of them in Sao Paulo state.

Five will pitch camp in the north east and the south will host the other three, FIFA said.

FIFA boss

FIFA boss

Brazil will be based in the small town of Teresopolis, 90km north of Rio, while reigning champions Spain have chosen the southern city of Curitiba and England have selected Rio de Janeiro.

Herewith the full base camp list for the event, starting on June 12 and running to July 13:

Algeria: Sorocaba

Argentina: Vespasiano

Australia: Vitoria

Belgium: Mogi das Cruzes

Bosnia-Herzegovina: Guaruja

Brazil: Teresopolis

Cameroon: Vitoria

Chile: Belo Horizonte

Colombia: Cotia

Costa Rica: Santos

Croatia: Mata de Sao Joao

Ecuador: Viamao

England: Rio de Janeiro

France: Ribeirao Preto

Germany: Santa Cruz Cabralia

Ghana: Maceio

Greece: Aracaju

Holland: Rio de Janeiro

Honduras: Porto Feliz

Italy: Mangaratiba

Iran: Guarulhos

Ivory Coast: Aguas de Lindoia

Japan: Itu

Mexico: Santos

Nigeria: Campinas

Portugal: Campinas

Russia: Itu

South Korea: Foz do Iguaçu

Spain: Curitiba

Switzerland: Porto Seguro

United States: Sao Paulo

Uruguay: Sete Lagoa

    Print       Email