APC senators fail to stall ministerial screening

on   /   in News 12:35 am   /   Comments


ABUJA—The Senate, yesterday, waived aside strident objections by All Progressives Congress, APC, senators as it proceeded to screen six of the 12 ministerial nominees forwarded to it by President Goodluck Jonathan.
The APC senators had pegged their objection to the screening of the nominees to the absence of necessary particulars of the nominees and also pleaded for reasonable time to study the particulars.

However, the effort of the APC senators was quickly checked by the President of the Senate, Senator David Mark who presided at the plenary as he insisted that going ahead with the exercise would not in any way, jeopardize their efforts in assessing the fitness of the nominees for ministerial office.

Shortly after the Senate Leader, Senator Victor Ndoma-Egba, moved to commence the screening, Senator Babafemi Ojudu, APC, Ekiti Central, raised a point of order, calling for the deferment of the screening, saying his call was necessitated by petitions which he said the Senate had been inundated with against the nominees, mostly from the people of their states and where they had worked in the past.

Ojudu pleaded for two days extension of the exercise to enable them study the reports on the nominees which he said had just been distributed to them, but Senator Mark countered him, saying there was enough time for senators to study the reports about the nominees and make immediate contributions.

Following that, Senator Anthony Adeniyi raised a point of order, saying that necessary security reports had not been attached to the documents presented to the senators, and like Ojudu before him, he was ruled out of order by the Senate President.

Following the removal of the objections, the Senate proceeded to screen six nominees.
Those screened were Senator Musiliu Obanikoro (Lagos); Hon. Mohammed Wakil (Borno); Amb. Aminu Wali (Kano); Mrs Akon Etim Eyakenyi (Akwa Ibom); Mrs Lawrencia Labaran Mallam (Kaduna) and Gen. Aliyu Mohammed Gusau (rtd) from Zamfara State respectively.

    Print       Email